The Beauty of Simplicity


Back to simplicity: my heart seems to be mulling on this for the past few weeks. I don’t know when it began. This yearning. It was no one moment but a series of events that got me thinking. We really live in a complex world and the new developments don’t seem to make things simpler though definitely easier. But more importantly I get a sense that though we have an overload of information we seem to be becoming more and more complex as human beings.

Does this mean that I yearn for simpler times? I don’t think so. After all I am blogging, a new age phenomena in, and of, itself!

One day, as I sat looking at my room, I felt a heaviness. Like, the room seemed to be bulging. I had never felt this way before. I saw some of my treasured possessions as things that I did not need but had spent a lifetime buying. I saw how connected my life had become and started to resist the idea of being constantly on the call. Its funny but has your smartphone’s battery ever died on you? Do you feel the emptiness that brings? That small square piece, when alive, connects you to the whole world, not just as a phone but through FB, through Twitter, you name it and its there. And finally the fact that my overactive brain was thinking about a zillion things at the same time: the past, present and future all existing at once. In my mind, and life, a plethora of choices and an overload of things are sort of intersecting.

And suddenly I felt this decision rising: back to simplicity. I love the way the world is advancing in so many ways exponentially, but I felt the need to get rooted and be still in the now. The past few weeks had seen me, a shopaholic, think of thrift, of planning to save and spend on things I really love to do, like travel. Of cutting out the incessant need to buy, that may also be because my self-worth is no longer tied to what I own and how I look. Slowly, a rootedness and a question: do I really need this in my life has come in: whether it be possessions, attitudes, or people.  A first. I have even stopped reading the gossip columns of newspapers, changing my daily paper to one I really admire. I no longer dream of owning the biggest or fastest this or that. I have also started to watch theater, a passion I have and spending real-time with people I love. Rediscovering old bonds and myself. Yes, it’s giving a strange kind of peace. Maybe this is what happens when finally you reach an age and time in life when you are forced to reflect and stop rushing through everything. And accept. The mantra of simplicity has given me a freedom deep down that I have started to enjoy. Like really living in my skin and not worrying about being this or that or a version of someone else’s idea of who I should be. And funnily enough, some of the people who I  know and some who I don’t (in the media), and admire, also live by this mantra and seem to enjoy a deeply fulfilling and satisfying life. They may earn a little less than the best and take decisions that no one can understand but their priorities are so clear that it doesn’t matter any more.

The Beauty of Simplicity

4 thoughts on “The Beauty of Simplicity

  1. “Manifest plainness,
    Embrace simplicity,
    Reduce selfishness,
    Have few desires.”
    ― Lao Tzu

    I really like the way you write. It embraces simplicity. No jargon, no pretence. Just the way it is. The way it should be!

    Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

