Zara and the Culottes


I first spotted a Culotte (or I think it was one) in Inglorious Basterds, the classic Quentin Tarantino movie. I love Tarantino, his humour, his vision and his intelligence. So going back to the Culotte and Tarantino: in walks the fearless heroine in grey culottes, black high boots and a grey sweater. And I was floored. No, I didn’t watch this movie yesterday, but in 2009 when it got released and I have never stopped fantasising about it.

I searched stores, kept my eyes open when I travelled abroad and then slowly gave up. Though forgot about it? No. I don’t know if it was the actor who impressed me, by the way she carried it, or the look itself.

Imagine my surprise then, when I walk into the Ambience Mall, Gurgaon, headed towards my all time favourite store, Zara, and see the Culotte hanging on the mannequin. It was a dream come true. In I rushed, happy to finally see “the look” materialise, and bought everything else but that.

I simply forgot. Zara does that to you. I could sound very shallow eulogising a brand. But how I love their styles. If I could, I would marry the store!

And then I saw it on the App that I have on my phone. Yes, I am obsessed.  Being the curious researcher that I am, oh, by the way, I forgot to tell you that by this time I didn’t know it was called a Culotte. So going back, I saw the term Culotte in the menu of the App and on sheer instinct, clicked on it. Black, blue, patterned, there they were. But I didn’t stop. I was fascinated by the term “culotte” and so I searched. And, boy was I amazed to see the history behind it. Who would have thought it emerged from the knee breaches that men wore in Europe in the Middle Ages. And then how it evolved for the women in the Victorian era, to look like a skirt, so that they could ride on a horse. To finally, killing it on the ramp this year, (courtesy the Huffington Post)

The name itself combines latin and french words (which explained the presence in the Tarantino movie).

I am impressed, I have been trying to learn French and love the language. So to see all my favourites-Zara, Tarantino, French-combined into one piece of clothing that I am obsessed about seems to have made my life.

So at this point I stop typing and go shopping. See you @ Zara!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

